Who are sons of God? Part 2

28 April, 2021

Why is Jesus called the ‘Son Of God’? For many people, this is an unsolved problem. They can’t even think about the concept of God having a Son. The Bible has its own language. We should first understand that God isn’t a human being and hence, never attempt to understand God in the human terms. God is Spirit, living in the spirit world and therefore we should grasp everything in a spiritual way. More than searching and researching about the Son of God and the implication of it, the best thing is to cry out to God and seek God’s revelation about the same. It’s more easy to comprehend when God reveals to the eyes of our hearts. 

Jesus once asked the disciples who he was and the right answer was put forth by Peter, “You are Christ, the Son of the Living God”. Immediately Jesus said that this was not revealed to him by flesh and blood, but by His heavenly Father; which implies that we can never understand Christ using human brain or biological terms and theories. 

Yesterday I began to explain what it means by Son in the biblical language. Firstly, all angels are called sons of God and secondly all homosapiens are generally called sons/ daughters/ children of God. Thirdly, we saw that the Nation of Israel is called the son of God. Let’s now continue with the study on the different sons of God mentioned in the Bible. 

  1. David and his descendants

David was the second king of Israel. David and the other kings who were the descendants of David are collectively called sons of God. 

Psalm 2:7 “I will declare the decree: The LORD has said to me, ‘you are my son, today I have begotten you.

Primarily, this is about king David. However, this is a Messianic Psalm as well which contains Messianic prophecies. The same verse is quoted in Hebrews as well. Here, King David becomes a type/shadow of Jesus, and it states that king David is the Lord’s son. 

2 Samuel 7:12-15  When your days are over and you rest with your ancestors, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, your own flesh and blood, and I will establish his kingdom. He is the one who will build a house for my Name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever. I will be his father, and he will be my son. When he does wrong, I will punish him with a rod wielded by men, with floggings inflicted by human hands. But my love will never be taken away from him, as I took it away from Saul, whom I removed from before you.

This is a promise for the future or for the descendants of King David. David and the theocratic kings after his time will be called sons of God. It is because they actually represented Jesus Christ and his rulership as a prophetic prototype of Jesus. Therefore, God considered David and his descendants as His sons and wanted to rule the nation through them.

  1. Believers 

John 1:12, 13 But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name: who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.

This is about the born again (spiritual) experience which is explained in detail in John 3 in the conversation between Jesus and Nicodemus – Jesus answered, “Truly, truly, I tell you, no one can enter the kingdom of God unless he is born of water (Word) and the Spirit. (John 3:5)

All born again believers are called children of God.

Romans 8:16The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children’.

Romans 8:14For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God’.

1 John 3:1 See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.

If you believe in Jesus and if you are born again you are undoubtedly the son/ daughter of God. This is not in a biological manner, because the Holy Spirit and the word of God which is the seed of God came into your spirit and now you have a new life inside of you; this blend of the Spirit and word of God made you a son/daughter of God.  

  1. Those who show God’s nature/characteristics

Matthew 5:9 Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

This verse is a part of the beatitudes. The peacemakers are called sons of God. That is God’s nature.God brings peace. Jesus brought peace on Earth.  

Luke 6:35But love your enemies, do good, and lend, hoping for nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High. For He is kind to the unthankful and evil.

If you can lend and do good to people, you’re displaying the nature of God and you will be ‘Sons of God.’ 

  1. God’s people after resurrection

Luke 20:34-36 Jesus said to them, “The sons of this age marry and are given in marriage, but those who are considered worthy to attain to that age and the resurrection from the dead, neither marry nor are given in marriage; for they cannot even die anymore, because they are like angels, and are sons of God, being sons of the resurrection. 

All of us after resurrection are considered sons of God. 

Romans 8:19For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed.

In the future, we will come to that status of sons of God in a more relevant and glorious way. 

All these 7 categories of people who are called sons of God are given to familiarize you with the Biblical language and concept of the sons of God. Tomorrow, we’ll study on how Jesus became the Son of God in the most simplified form. Do not miss it!

Watch full video here:

About the Author

Ps. Damien Antony 

BRev. Damien Antonyorn and brought up in a Christian family, Ps. Damien Antony possessed an unquenching quest for truth right from his boyhood days and eventually his relentless search led him to the Bible. He is a Revival Preacher, Bible Teacher, Leadership Trainer, Author and a Life Coach. He moves under the anointing for Prophetic, Healing, Deliverance, Inner Healing and Financial Breakthrough. God has also blessed him with an Apostolic Mandate to take the Universal Body of Christ to the next level of revelation and anointing.